Oklahoma PE and architect license renewal: what firms need to track
Quick answer
- Engineers (PE): PE licenses renew every two years and expire on the last day of the month in which they are due; the due month appears keyed to the individual license (not yet confirmed). CE: 30 PDH every two years.
- Architects (Licensed Architect), not yet checked with the board: Individual licenses renew every two years, due by June 30 of the renewal (odd) year; unrenewed licenses are suspended July 1. CE: 24 hours every two years, all of them in health, safety and welfare (HSW) topics.
- Engineering firms: Need a firm credential from the board before offering engineering: Certificate of Authorization (COA).
- Architecture firms: Need a firm credential: Certificate of Authority. An A/E firm registers with both boards.
If your firm has engineers or architects licensed in Oklahoma, you track three kinds of dates: each person’s license expiration, the end of each person’s CE period, and the firm’s own registration. Engineers answer to the Oklahoma State Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors. Architects answer to the Board of Governors of the Licensed Architects, Landscape Architects and Licensed Interior Designers of Oklahoma (Oklahoma Board of Architects). Worth knowing up front: an A/E firm keeps two firm registrations.
| Item | Engineers (PE) | Architects |
|---|---|---|
| Board | Oklahoma State Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors | Board of Governors of the Licensed Architects, Landscape Architects and Licensed Interior Designers of Oklahoma (Oklahoma Board of Architects) |
| License renews | PE licenses renew every two years and expire on the last day of the month in which they are due; the due month appears keyed to the individual license (not yet confirmed). | Individual licenses renew every two years, due by June 30 of the renewal (odd) year; unrenewed licenses are suspended July 1. |
| CE per period | 30 PDH every two years | 24 hours every two years |
| Required topics | None beyond the total | 24 HSW |
| Carryover | Up to 15 hours | None |
| Firm registration | Certificate of Authorization (COA) | Certificate of Authority |
PE license renewal in Oklahoma
PE licenses renew every two years and expire on the last day of the month in which they are due; the due month appears keyed to the individual license (not yet confirmed).
The board: Oklahoma State Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors. Look up each engineer’s current expiration date on the board’s license lookup rather than trusting the date on an old spreadsheet.
PE continuing education (PDH)
- Hours: 30 PDH every two years. Biennial renewal. Each license expires on the last day of the month in which it is due (OAC 245:15-7-3). The rule text read does not say how the due month is set (not yet confirmed). Hours are owed per 24-month renewal period, or 15 per calendar year under the optional calendar-year method.
- Limits on some activities: professional society service (at most 4) and committee and task-force service (at most 8) hours.
- Carryover: Standard method: up to 15 PDH may carry into the next biennial period. Calendar-year method (15 PDH each calendar year): no carryover (OAC 245:15-11-5(a)-(b)). PDH earned while exempt as a new licensee cannot carry forward.
- New licensees: Exempt for the first pro-rated renewal period AND the first two-year renewal period, for new licensees by exam or comity. PDH earned while exempt cannot carry forward (OAC 245:15-11-3(b)(1)).
- Records: 3 years (OAC 245:15-11-9(b)).
- Reporting: The licensee certifies CE compliance at renewal and may renew only if the certification is true (OAC 245:15-11-5(d)). Audits are run by the board's Continuing Education Committee or its designee (OAC 245:15-11-9(c)).
Architect license renewal and CE in Oklahoma
Individual licenses renew every two years, due by June 30 of the renewal (odd) year; unrenewed licenses are suspended July 1. Certificate of Authority renews with the licensee's individual renewal by June 30, biennially. The board: Board of Governors of the Licensed Architects, Landscape Architects and Licensed Interior Designers of Oklahoma (Oklahoma Board of Architects); each architect’s date is on the license lookup.
- Hours: 24 hours every two years, all in health, safety and welfare (HSW) topics. Two years before the June 30 odd-year renewal date (July 1 even-2 year to June 30 odd year).
- Carryover: No carryover provision found in Subchapter 17.
- New licensees: First-time licensee (exam or reciprocity) exempt for the first renewal period if it is less than two years from original licensure (OAC 55:10-17-3).
- Records: Two calendar years following the filing of the renewal application (OAC 55:10-17-4).
- Units: An AIA learning unit (LU) is one hour.
Firm registration (COA) and qualifier rules
Engineering firms
A firm offering engineering in Oklahoma needs a firm credential from the board: Certificate of Authorization (COA). All firms that practice or offer engineering in Oklahoma need a Certificate of Authorization, with or without an Oklahoma office; whether a sole proprietor in their own name needs one is not stated (not yet confirmed). The firm names an Oklahoma-licensed managing agent who holds recognized authority (officer, principal, director, shareholder, member or general partner); a full-time employee without such a title can qualify with Board approval, and one person cannot serve two firms without approval. An out-of-state firm's Oklahoma branch office needs an Oklahoma PE who lives in Oklahoma full time or spends most business hours at the branch. Changes in managing agent must be reported within 30 days.
Architecture firms
A firm offering architecture needs a firm credential: Certificate of Authority. Partnerships, corporations, LLCs and LLPs practicing architecture need a Certificate of Authority, filed for each office location working on Oklahoma projects. The application names all partners, directors, officers, members, managers or principals legally responsible for the practice. At least one principal must be an Oklahoma-licensed architect designated as responsible for the practice (Architect of Record). Changes in these persons must be filed within 30 days. No percentage ownership rule was found. Licensees not practicing through an entity practice as individuals. Many building types are exempt from the architect requirement (59 O.S. 46.21b).
Ownership: No ownership percentage found. At least one general partner, director, officer, shareholder, manager, member or principal must be an Oklahoma-licensed architect designated as responsible for the practice (OAC 55:10-13-5; 59 O.S. 46.21a).
Architect in charge: The entity names a principal (director, partner, officer, member, manager or principal) licensed in Oklahoma who has the practice of architecture in charge. A multi-profession firm needs one such licensed principal per profession. Changes filed within 30 days.
Firm renewal: Biennial, due June 30 of the renewal year together with the licensee renewal (OAC 55:10-13-6). Not renewed = automatic cancellation.
Firms that offer both
The architects board is separate from the Oklahoma State Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors. An A/E firm needs this board's Certificate of Authority for architecture; engineering firm authorization comes from the engineers board (not re-checked here). One Certificate of Authority from this board can cover architecture, landscape architecture and interior design if a licensed principal is named for each.
Who can seal drawings in Oklahoma
Oklahoma ties sealing to the discipline on the license, so a sheet’s discipline has to match what the engineer is licensed in. Oklahoma has no separate SE license but offers a 'Structural (with SE)' discipline designation for those who passed the NCEES SE exam; a PE may also declare 'Structural (without SE)' (not yet confirmed: whether any work requires the SE designation).
On architectural sheets, our data says an engineer may seal architectural work only in limited cases. 59 O.S. 46.21b requires an architect for listed Code Use Groups (Institutional, certain R-2 dorms, A-1, A-4, A-5, High hazard, and change-of-use cases). Exempt from the Act (anyone may design): buildings up to 2 stories in many groups, e.g. A-2/A-3/E up to 50 occupants, B up to 100,000 sf, M up to 200,000 sf, U/F/S, R-2 up to 32 units, R-3/R-4, 1-2 family dwellings, small public buildings. The Act lists site plans, life safety plans, roof plans, shallow spread footings and systems coordination as within both architecture and engineering scope. Whether PEs may seal architectural sheets for non-exempt buildings was not confirmed.
Before a set goes out, every sheet has to pass four checks: a Oklahoma license, the right discipline, a license still active on the issue date, and the firm’s registration. Compare Oklahoma with other states on who can seal drawings, by state.
Common mistakes
- Treating an engineer’s license as the firm’s. A licensed PE can’t make up for a missing Certificate of Authorization (COA). In Oklahoma the firm needs its own before it offers engineering, and the four sheet checks fail without it.
- Registering an A/E firm with only one board. Oklahoma regulates engineering and architecture firms separately, so a firm that offers both keeps two registrations and two renewal dates.
- Losing the firm’s qualifying engineer without noticing. If the person the firm’s registration depends on leaves, the registration can be at risk. Our data doesn’t record a replacement deadline for Oklahoma, so ask the board. See what to do the day someone gives notice.
- Assuming every engineer renews on the same date. Oklahoma doesn’t use one statewide date for everyone. PE licenses renew every two years and expire on the last day of the month in which they are due; the due month appears keyed to the individual license (not yet confirmed). Read each person’s date from the board’s lookup.
Where to file
SealBench never files anything with a board for you. Renewals, CE reports and firm registrations go to the board directly:
- Oklahoma State Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors (engineers and engineering firms)
- Oklahoma engineer license lookup
- Board of Governors of the Licensed Architects, Landscape Architects and Licensed Interior Designers of Oklahoma (Oklahoma Board of Architects) (architects and architecture firms)
- Oklahoma architect license lookup
How SealBench helps
SealBench keeps every PE and architect license and every firm registration on your roster in one list, soonest expiration first. Reminders at 90, 60 and 30 days before each date are coming soon. It counts each person’s CE hours and required topics against Oklahoma’s rules, and Set Check shows who can seal each sheet in a Oklahoma permit set, and why anyone can’t. One license is free to track; see pricing.
Oklahoma renewal questions
How often do PE licenses renew in Oklahoma?
PE licenses renew every two years and expire on the last day of the month in which they are due; the due month appears keyed to the individual license (not yet confirmed). Check each engineer’s own date on the board’s license lookup.
How many PDH hours does a Oklahoma PE need?
30 PDH every two years. Standard method: up to 15 PDH may carry into the next biennial period. Calendar-year method (15 PDH each calendar year): no carryover (OAC 245:15-11-5(a)-(b)). PDH earned while exempt as a new licensee cannot carry forward.
How many CE hours does a Oklahoma architect need?
24 hours every two years, all of them in health, safety and welfare (HSW) topics. Two years before the June 30 odd-year renewal date (July 1 even-2 year to June 30 odd year).
Does an engineering firm need a certificate of authorization in Oklahoma?
Yes. The data we hold says a firm needs its own credential from the board (Certificate of Authorization (COA)) before it offers engineering in Oklahoma. All firms that practice or offer engineering in Oklahoma need a Certificate of Authorization, with or without an Oklahoma office; whether a sole proprietor in their own name needs one is not stated (not yet confirmed).
Does an architecture and engineering firm need one registration or two in Oklahoma?
The architects board is separate from the Oklahoma State Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors. An A/E firm needs this board's Certificate of Authority for architecture; engineering firm authorization comes from the engineers board (not re-checked here). One Certificate of Authority from this board can cover architecture, landscape architecture and interior design if a licensed principal is named for each.
Does SealBench file renewals with the Oklahoma board?
No. SealBench tracks the dates, CE hours and firm registrations and shows what’s due next. Your firm renews, reports CE and files with the board itself.
Is any sheet in your next Oklahoma set blocked?
Send one permit set and your roster. Within two business days we return who may seal each sheet, and why anyone is blocked: state license, discipline, expiry and the firm’s registration. Your first Set Check is free.
Request a free Set CheckSources
Engineering
- 59 O.S. 475.21: Firms, managing agent, branch offices, 30-day updates
- OAC 245:15-19-1 and 19-2: COA required; managing agent criteria; out-of-state branch residency
- OAC 245:15-7-1 to 7-3: Biennial renewal; expires last day of month due
- Oklahoma Board: Declaring Disciplines Form (declared disciplines; practice only within discipline and competence; Structural with/without SE)
- Oklahoma Board: Form B, PE comity applicants without an NCEES Record (May 2022)
- Oklahoma Board FAQs (COA for all firms; NCEES Record replaces verification forms)
- OAC 245:15-11-1 to 11-3 (Oklahoma board, official rule text)
- OAC 245:15-11-5 to 11-6 (Oklahoma board, official rule text)
- OAC 245:15-11-7 to 11-9 (Oklahoma board, official rule text)
- OAC 245:15-11-11 to 11-13 (Oklahoma board, official rule text)
Architecture
- Oklahoma State Architectural and Licensed Interior Designers Act (board copy, eff. Nov 1, 2025)
- OAC Title 55 Chapter 10 (board copy, eff. Sept 15, 2025)
- Oklahoma Board of Architects home
SealBench suggests who may seal each sheet and shows why. The licensed professional takes responsible charge and applies the seal. SealBench is not a law firm, does not give legal advice, and does not file anything with any board. Questions or corrections: support@sealbench.com.